Yarn #1 : Stylecraft Life Super Chunky

Welcome to the first personal review of yarns I’ve used!  Each review will have a title prefixed Yarn # to make it obvious.

This review is for Stylecraft Life Super Chunky. I’m making a sweater in this yarn at the moment.  It is 75% acrylic/25% wool, with 80 metres/87 yards in 100g.  It’s machine washable at 40 deg C, can be tumble dried at a cool setting, may be cool ironed and dry cleaned.  The recommended needle size is 10mm/000 UK/15 US, using which a 10 x 10cm tension square will consist of 9.5 stitches by 13 rows.  I’m using Shade 2377 (Sage)  for my sweater.  It’s wonderfully soft and works beautifully – and fast of course!  The sweater I’m making features slipped stitches and cables and these have proven no challenge to the yarn.  In several balls, I’ve only discovered one join so far, which I am delighted about.  Based on this yarn’s quality, I’d have no hesitation in recommending it, and I certainly intend to try other Stylecraft yarns.

Leave a Reply

