Diamond Basketwork Scarf

This scarf took me about a week to knit, so you now know I’m a slow knitter.  I came up with the pattern on my own, so I’m rather proud.  I guess there’s nothing new or original about it but, as a beginner, I was pleased that I could come up with a pattern without any help.

There are no complicated instructions so the pattern is suitable for all skill levels.

 

Diamond Basketwork Scarf
Diamond Basketwork Scarf
Diamond Basketwork Scarf Close-up
Diamond Basketwork Scarf Close-up

 

Diamond Basketweave Scarf Pattern

Copyright © Steve K Smy, 2010

Requirements:
UK No. 8 needles (US 6/4mm),  1 x 100g DK yarn,  Darning needle

Instructions:

Cast on 59 sttches
Row 1 : (K11, P1) repeat 3 times,K11
Row 2 : K1, (P9, K3) repeat 3 times, P9, K1
Row 3 : P2, (K7, P5) repeat 3 times, K7, P2
Row 4 : K3, (P5, K7) repeat 3 times, P5, K3
Row 5 : P4, (K3, P9) repeat 3 times, K3, P4
Row 6 : K5, (P1, K11) repeat 3 times, P1, K5
Row 7 : P4, (K3, P9) repeat 3 times, K3, P4
Row 8 : K3, (P5, K7) repeat 3 times, P5, K3
Row 9 : P2, (K7, P5) repeat 3 times, K7, P2
Row 10 : K1, (P9, K3) repeat 3 times, P9, K1
Repeat rows 1 to 10 in whole runs of 10 rows, until desired length achieved.
(K11, P1) repeat 3 times, K11
Cast off. Sew tail ends of yarn in to finish off.
(I knitted a total of 231 rows in the illustrated scarf.)
The scarf in the photos, knitted as a gift, was very well received, I’m relieved to say.
Leave a Reply

